Dhawan returns as India opt to field

India won the toss in 1st T20 match and made a decision to field first.

All-rounders Dan Christian and Moises Henriques have joined the squad for the T20 series.

Yuzvendra Chahal pegged Australia back once again when he dismissed Maxwell for the fourth time in as many innings.

Indian cricket team has a hundred per cent record in T20Is against Australia while playing at home.

Smith is sidelined for the three-game series, with Marcus Stoinis his replacement and David Warner to captain the side, Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed on Saturday.

Preview: After thrashing Australia 4-1 in the five-match One-day International (ODI) series, a confident India will aim to extend their dominance over the Kangaroos in the three-match T20 International series starting on Saturday. Moises Henriques was quick to follow Head to pavilion. Opener Shikhar Dhawan, on 15, and skipper Virat Kohli, on 22, remained unbeaten.

While India, who are now ranked fifth in ICC World T20 rankings, are favourites to win the three-match series starting at the JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi, Australia are dealt with a big blow as Steve Smith has returned to homeland after sustaining an injury.

Warner, who slammed two consecutive boundaries in the over by Bhuvneshwar, was sent back to pavilion for mere eight runs in the fifth ball.

Australia's success in the series will also depend on their pace bowling department comprising of the likes of Patrick Cummins, Behrendorff, Kane Richardson and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Destructive Aaron Finch was set to take the game away from India with his thunderous batting but Kuldeep Yadav's magic restricted the batsman from scoring big as he was departed for 42 runs off 30 balls.

As far as weather conditions are concerned, rain threat does loom large over the city of Ranchi tomorrow as a cyclonic circulation is over eastcentral Bay of Bengal and is likely to move northwestwards.

India (Playing 11): 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Manish Pandey, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Jasprit Bumrah. "The ball will come on slowly towards the end".